A lovely stay again in this wonderful cottage (Glenfuin Cottage), all thanks to Alison and Craig.
Went to Glasgow to the Transport Museum and Burrell Collection. Both well worth a visit.
A trip to Edinburgh Botanic Gardens also well worth the visit.
A must have trip to the Oban Fish & Chip Shop, 116 George Street for the best place to eat in fish and chips.
Inverary is also worth visiting. A trip round the peninsular from Helsnburgh is good if the weather is being kind or a wander round the glen.

Looking forward to next year.
Sue and Roddy, Harrietshaw, Kent

13th – 20th July 2024


Really enjoyed our weeks stay at your beautiful Crosskeys Cottage celebrating my birthday.
Everything you need is provided, fab spa bath and large bedroom in which the bed is so comfy!
Felt so cosy staying here, and sad to leave.

Craig & Alison lovely to meet you briefly when we arrived, nice seating area on the side that catches the sun.
We’ve had brill days out everyday and lots of walking, Spencer the boxer has loved his holiday too.

Thanks again Craig & Alison, you have a beautiful place.

Debs, Mick & Spencer (woof)
Derbyshire

13th – 20th July 2024


We’ve had a lovely week in this well appointed and comfortable cottage (Crosskeys Cottage). Alison and Craig have been very welcoming and helpful.

Crosskeys is so well situation for exploring this part of Scotland, especially Loch Lomond and the Trossachs. Our excursion on the steamer ‘Sir Walter Scott’ on Loch Katrine worked brilliantly helped by some sunny weather.

Supermarkets in Helensburgh and Balloch were easily accessible where we could buy everything we needed for meals. Maisie, our labrador was equally content!

A great visit and one we would love to repeat at some stage.

Ian, Maraget and Maisie (woof)

6th – 13th July 2024


Overall rating
5 stars

Had a great stay, very smart and homely. We felt relaxed and enjoyed our stay and will be back.

1st – 6th July 2024


Glenfruin Cottage – a really lovely cosy country cottage well equipped, smart yet homely.
Great helpful hosts and a great location for exploring the area.
Had the weather been better, the garden would have been lovely to relax in but we had to swap that for a real fire instead most evenings which we both enjoyed and relaxed by with a glass of wine. I think we’ll be back!

Thanks again, Alex & Lance, Telford, Salop

1st to 6th July 2024


Lovely Cottage,very clean.
Enjoyed lots of local walks,lots to see and do.

David,Caroline and Lily (woof)

29th June – 6th July 2024


We have had a truly amazing and relaxing stay at Glenfuin Lodge. Thank you for the warm welcome and spotless cottage. Thanks to Alison’s recommendations we had a wonderful time climbing Conic Hill (stunning views!) and a great trip to the island of Inchcailloch. We also drove to Glencoe and were in awe of the breathtaking scenery.

Thanks again for providing such a cosy, comfortable and well-equipped base from which to explore Loch Lomond and into the Highlands. It has been the perfect way to spend and celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary.

Harriet and Jamie Richards, Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire

2nd – 8th June 2024


Fab little place – central to pretty much everywhere. Had a trip over to Isle of Arran to walk up Goatfell, drove up to Oban via the Arrachar Alps and the Rest & Be Thankful.
Sadly the weather wasn’t as good as I hoped so munro bagging went out of the window which allowed for visits to Luss, Balmaha and the inevitable visit in the torrential rain to Glencoe.

Thanks to Alison & Craig for their attention to detail.

Nicola & Sylv (Woof)

1st – 8th June 2024


What a beautiful cottage (Crosskeys Cottage), everything you need couldn’t ask for more.
Very good location, ideal for exploring the local area.
Monty our dog selled very well & enjoyed all of the walks.

Thank-you for your kind hospitality.
Wendy, Peter & Monty (woof), Milton Keynes

26th May – 29th May


Thank you, have had a lovely time, lovely cottage (Glenfruin Cottage), plenty of space.
Can recommend Inn on Loch Lomond for good food and Jurassic Grill in Loch Lomond for a good burger.

Thanks again, Mary & David

10th May – 25th May 2024


Things to do

Historical sites

Historic Scotland (Historic Environment Scotland) offer ‘Explorer Tickets’ that enable you to visit multiple sites over a number of days to save on entry fees if visiting more than one site and also give you fast track entry for Stirling Castle and Edinburgh Castle. For more information go to: www.historic-scotland.gov.uk/explorer. Some of their historic sites have […]

Read more
Auchendrain Village

Auchendrain museum – just south of Inveraray

The preserved buildings from the 1700s give an authentic insight into how people lived and worked in the north and west of Scotland. You can wander freely around the houses and farm buildings furnished with everyday objects from time gone by.

Read more
Glengoyne Distillery Killearn

Whisky distillery tour

You cannot come to Scotland without discovering the secrets of our ‘water of life’. There are many distilleries near to Crosskeys:- Glengoyne (Killearn), Deanstone (Doune), Auchentoshan (Clydebank/Glasgow), Glenturret (Crieff), Eradour (Pitlochry), Blair Athol (Pitlochry) Aberfeldy and Oban.https://trossachs.co.uk/whisky/

Read more